No 'boundary', 'flags' or 'spectators'? If so click here for the full picture.
European Championships, September 17-19, 2004
Venue: Jersey Croquet Club

Click for a photo [ = our choice]

A wander round the boundary:
The players:
Tournament report by Sarah Burrow
2003 full results
2002 full results
Previous winners (from 1993 on)
Just a green bar

Block play

Stephen Mulliner (England)
Gianpietro Donati (Italy)
Fernando de Ansorena (Spain)
Richard Sowerby (Jersey)
Kevin Wells (Isle of Man)
  S.Mulliner beat G.Donati +25
  S.Mulliner beat Ansorena +22
  S.Mulliner beat R.Sowerby +23
  S.Mulliner beat K.Wells +26tp
  G.Donati beat Ansorena +19
  G.Donati beat R.Sowerby +15(t)
  K.Wells beat G.Donati +1(t)
  K.Wells beat Ansorena +23 Ansorena beat R. Sowerby +17(t)
  R.Sowerby beat K.Wells +3(t)
Qualifiers: S.Mulliner, G.Donati, K.Wells, Ansorena.
Matthew Burrow (Jersey)
Edoardo Lualdi (Italy)
Bruno Hess (Germany)
Andres Alvarez-Sala (Spain)
Anton Varnas (Sweden)
  M.Burrow beat E. Lualdi +14tp
  M.Burrow beat B. Hess +26tp
  M.Burrow beat A. Alvarez-Sala +26tp
  M.Burrow beat A. Varnas +26tp
  E. Lualdi beat B. Hess +26tp
  E. Lualdi beat A. Alvarez-Sala +25
  E. Lualdi beat A. Varnas +26
  A.Varnas beat A. Alvarez-Sala +22
  A. Varnas beat B.Hess +2(t)
  A. Alvarez-Sala beat B.Hess +2(t)
Qualifiers: M.Burrow, E.Lualdi, A.Varnas, A.Alvarez-Sala.
Paolo de Petra (Italy)
Peter Payne (Switzerland)
Fergus McInnes (Scotland)
Kevin Garrad (Isle of Man)
Philip Archer (Guernsey) Petra beat P.Payne +4 Petra beat F.McInnes +21 Petra beat K.Garrad +4(t) Petra beat P.Archer +24
  P.Payne beat F.McInnes +26tp
  P.Payne beat K.Garrad +4(t)
  P.Payne beat P. Archer +25
  F.McInnes beat K.Garrad (ret)
  F.McInnes beat P. Archer +1(t)
  P.Archer beat K.Garrad (ret)
Qualifiers: Petra, P.Payne, F.McInnes, P.Archer.
Samir Patel (England)
Sarah Burrow (Jersey)
Garry McElwain (Wales)
John Swabey (Belgium)
Bernard Witas (France)
  S.Burrow beat S.Patel +15
  S.Burrow beat J.Swabey +26tp
  S.Burrow beat B.Witas +23
  S.Patel beat G.McElwain +4
  S.Patel beat J.Swabey +18
  S.Patel beat B.Witas +24
  G.McElwain beat S.Burrow +1(t)
  G.McElwain beat J.Swabey +3(t)
  G.McElwain beat B.Witas +16(t)
  J.Swabey beat B.Witas +15
Qualifiers: S.Burrow, S.Patel, G.McElwain, J.Swabey.

Just a green bar

Knockout - First Round

S.Mulliner beat J.Swabey +26tp
M.Burrow beat P.Archer +26tp Petra beat A.Alvarez-Sala +4(t)
S.Burrow beat Ansorena +15
G.Donati beat G.McElwain +11(t)
E.Lualdi beat F.McInnes +22
P.Payne beat A.Varnas +25
S.Patel beat K.Wells +26

Just a green bar

Quarter Finals

S.Mulliner beat E.Lualdi +6tpo, +13tpo
M.Burrow beat G.Donati +24tp, +5tp
S.Burrow beat P.Payne +8, +5
S.Patel beat Petra +9, +12

Just a green bar

Semi Finals

S.Mulliner beat S.Burrow +22, +26
M.Burrow beat S.Patel +24tp, +5tp

Third place playoff

S.Patel beat S.Burrow -7, +26tp, +16

Just a green bar


S.Mulliner beat M.Burrow +9tp, -25tp, +3sxp, -21tp, +26tp

Just a green bar

Final placings

European Champion: Stephen Mulliner (England)
Runner up: Matthew Burrow (Jersey)
Third place: Samir Patel (Englnad)
Fourth place: Sarah Burrow (Jersey)